WCCS Students Honored at Academic Awards Ceremony

Posted on: March 26, 2007

SELMA (March 8, 2007) — Wallace Community College Selma held its annual Honors Ceremony on Thursday, March 8, 2007 at 7:00 pm in the Earl Goodwin Theatre. This ceremony recognizes the academic achievements of students in a number of organizations. The following awards were presented: The United States Achievement Academy All-American Scholars, Academic Achievement, Academic Excellence, All-Alabama Academic Team Members, Most Outstanding Academic Athletes, Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Eta Tau Chapter, Who's Who Among Students in American Junior colleges, and the National Collegiate Minority Leadership Awards.

A total of 187 students were recognized for academic achievement and 51 participated in the ceremony. The Honorable Judge Marvin W. Wiggins, Fourth Judicial Court provided the keynote address to the honorees.

Participants were: Euvertha Cleveland Allen, Crystal Finklea Benjamin, Ramona E. Benjamin, Kristin Ann Benson, Ashley Phillips Biggs, Andrew Torrice Brown, Latoya Cook, Monique Cosby, Connie Sue Cunningham, Cody Adam Edwards, Roshelle Renee Edwards, Olympia Ellis, Haley LeAnn Ellison, Jason Tyler Ellison, Eugene Foster, Eddie Givhan Jr., Jason Paul Greene, Mary J. Thompson Griffin, Brent Lee Hagood, Britney Chanteese Harris, Virginia Faye Hartley, Ashley Ann Holifield, Beverly Holley, Victoria Lashun Hunter, Tonia E. Inestroza, Katrinia Latoya Jackson, Ebony Janay Jones, Vincent Lamont LaForm, Emma Deloris Lee, Ola Harris Lesure, Jennifer Massey Little, Alden B. Little III, Dominique Nicole Love, Kevin Lamar McDaniel, Cassandra Carter Morrow, Kamilah L. Murray, Amy Terrell Nix, Trent O. Reed, Amber Brookes Rinehart, Erika Mechele Roberson, James Barrett Rodehaver, Youlanda Yevette Rush, Cassandra Eve Smith, Lloyd D. Smith, Beebe Lynn Tate, Matthew Earl Thurman, Lakeisha Nicole Walker, Quincy D. Wilson, Donora M. Woods, and Elizabeth A. Young.

The Most Outstanding Academic Athlete awards were presented to Britney Chanteese Harris and Larry Richard Carmack. The candidates for the All-USA Academic Team and the All-Alabama Academic Team were Monique Cherelle Cosby, Alden B. Little III, Jennifer Massey Little, and Beebe Lynn Tate. The husband and wife tandem of Alden Little III and Jennifer Massey Little were selected for this award and the two will represent WCCS in Birmingham on April 5, 2007.

Picture Caption: Alden B. Little III, Jennifer Massey Little, and Dr. James M. Mitchell, President

WCCS @ Facebook WCCS @ Twitter WCCS @ YouTube

George Corley Wallace State Community College (Wallace Community College Selma)
3000 Earl Goodwin Parkway   P.O. Box 2530   Selma, Alabama 36702-2530  
Phone: 334-876-9227   Email: info@wccs.edu
(c) 2007 Wallace Community College Selma

It is the official policy of the Alabama State Department of Education, including postsecondary institutions under the control of the Alabama Community College System and Board of Trustees, that no person in Alabama shall, on the grounds of race, color, handicap, sex, religion, marital status, creed national origin, or age, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any program, activity, or employment.

George Corley Wallace State Community College (Wallace Community College Selma) is accredited by the Commission on Colleges, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award Associate in Arts, Associate in Science, and Associate in Applied Science Degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the status of Wallace Community College Selma.

Online Student Coaches
Close Button for chat ad